DWI and Your Drivers License
Can I Get My Drivers License Back After a DWI? Learn about DWI and your drivers license in Texas.
If you were arrested for drunk driving, it is important to understand that the criminal proceedings and the suspension of your driver’s license are separate. It is possible to retain your driving privileges even if you are convicted of DWI. It is also possible to lose your license even if your DWI charges are dismissed or defeated.
At Rush & Gransee, L.C., we fight for your driver’s license and use the opportunity to gain insight into the prosecution’s case. Our experienced criminal defense lawyer — a former DWI prosecutor — has been successful on both fronts.
Call us immediately if you are accused of driving while intoxicated or if your license is in jeopardy for refusing a DWI blood or breath test: 210-223-9200.
Don’t Miss The Deadline!
In Texas, you must act within 15 days of your DWI arrest to specifically request a hearing with the Department of Public Safety. If you do not request a hearing before the deadline passes, your license is automatically suspended on the 40th day, with no recourse.
Making the Most of Your DPS License Suspension Hearing
Kurt Gransee has practiced criminal defense in San Antonio for over 25 years. Before that, he served as a Bexar County DWI Task Force prosecutor. He understands what a hardship a revoked driver’s license can be in Texas, and he knows how to position you for the best chance of avoiding that scenario.
In your Department of Public Safety hearing, we can cross-examine the arresting officer at a time when he or she is not as well-prepared as in an actual criminal trial. Aside from the matter of your license, this is an invaluable opportunity to gauge the evidence that will be used in your criminal proceedings.
- If the hearing goes well, you will be able to keep your license and full driving privileges.
- We have had DWI cases dismissed based on officer testimony or other information presented at DPS hearings.
- If the hearing officer upholds the suspension, we can usually get an occupational license that allows you to drive to work, to school and for other necessary travel.
If you bypass the hearing, your license is automatically suspended 40 days after your arrest.
Occupational Licenses and Reinstatement of Driving Privileges
If you had another DWI in the past five years, there will be a “hard suspension” of 90 days before you can get an occupational driver’s license. If you have prior DWI convictions or your blood alcohol concentration was .15 or greater on a first offense, the court may also require the installation of an ignition interlock before you can drive again.
Although there is no formal reinstatement proceeding when your suspension is over, you should check with your attorney or the DPS to make sure that you are free to drive. Driving on a suspended license is a serious offense.
Complete DWI Defense in the San Antonio Area
When we represent you at your DPS hearing, we are not just going through the motions. We fight to keep your license and use that hearing to your advantage in your criminal case. Contact our San Antonio law office to arrange a free initial consultation with our lawyer to avoid a suspended driver’s license.